Oven/Cooktop Wiring

Old 03-28-06, 08:48 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oven/Cooktop Wiring

Hi everyone, I have a standard oven with a 4 prong receptacle and 50 amp breaker. I am replacing it with a built-in oven and separate cooktop. I was planning to just run another circuit and add another 4 prong receptacle and 50 amp breaker so I will have a circuit for each of the appliances. I have a few questions for anyone who might have experience with this.

Does the new circuit need a 50 amp breaker like the first, or does it depend on the requirements of the cooktop?

What wire should I use, I saw there are different sizes depending on the amperage?

Should the existing breaker remain 50 amps?

I have some experience with wiring but I have never dealt with 220 before so any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-28-06, 10:24 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Originally Posted by floridagator
Does the new circuit need a 50 amp breaker like the first, or does it depend on the requirements of the cooktop?
Depends on the cooktop, but probably more like 30A. You need to get the installation instructions from the manufacturer. You need to know the amperage and whether or not the cooktop uses pure 240V or 120/240V. If you have a link to the manufactures website and a model number we can probably help you decipher the specs.

What wire should I use, I saw there are different sizes depending on the amperage?
Depends on #1.

Should the existing breaker remain 50 amps?
Depends on #1, but probably not.

Old 03-28-06, 10:26 AM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Post was duplicate of Bens.....deleted

Old 03-28-06, 11:03 AM
One thing to note, when you use the old branch circuit for the new appliance: If it calls for a 30 amp circuit, get the 30 amp breaker. There's no crime at all in having an absurdly large wire compared to the breaker it's connected to.