Ground Rod for Sub Panel in Garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-02-06, 04:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Greeley, Colorado
Posts: 135
Ground Rod for Sub Panel in Garage

125amp sub panel in detached garage, 50' from house . . .

One or two ground rods?

1/2 inch, or, 5/8 inch?

#4 or # 6 ground wire to ground rod(s)?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-02-06, 04:48 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
One rod, possibly two. I typically install just one for such an application. Your inspectors may enforce two.

1/2" non-ferrous, or 5/8" steel/iron coated.

#6 is all that is required to a ground rod(s) alone.
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-06, 04:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
for subpanel most common to use one ground rod but few area might requried 2 rods but keep in your mind that the netrual and ground wires are kept separted.

#6 is very common and you should have no trouble with this but i will check with your inspector for latest issuse with ground rods it might be little diffrent other wise it pretty uniform on this issuse

Merci , Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'