Wiring baseboard heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-02-06, 10:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Question Wiring baseboard heat

i just purchased a Marley electric baseboard heater and thermostat and am very confused with the diagrams included with both. Here is what I have going on... My whole house is gas forced air, b ut there is a bedroom in the attic with no heat, so I am trying to install it as an auxilary occasional heat source. I already ran romex 12-2 wire from a new 20 amp breaker to the attic and it is ready to be installed to the thermostat. here is where I am lost. the thermostat has 4 wires on the back of it and a grounding screw. the wires are 2 black and 2 red. on the left side of the baseboard unit there is a black wire and on he right side there is a black and red wire twisted together. What do I need to do to get heat going here?

THANKS IN ADVANCE!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-02-06, 10:38 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
> am very confused with the diagrams

Can you post a link or a photograph?


> I already ran romex 12-2 wire from a new 20 amp breaker
What's a "20 amp breaker"? There are dozens of kinds.

You need to specify whether it is single-pole or double-pole.
Even the model number might help if it's a popular brand.


> here is where I am lost.

I think you were lost in the basement.
You should have marked the white wire red (paint, marker, tape).

When you got the the attic, you would again have a black and a red wire.

The first problem is that it was wrong in the basement.
So first we need to get it straightened out there.

Did you have a photo of where you hooked up the wires in the basement?

Secondly, you seem to be missing some wires on the heater.
Just a black wire cannot be correct.
You should have three wires. Or at least three landing places.
 
  #3  
Old 04-03-06, 04:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Most baseboard heat units are 240 volts. The thermostat you bought is for 240 volts.

You need a 240 volt breaker in your panel, and the appropriate sized wire for the load. 12 gage wire may be correct, however, 10 gage might be required or desirable, depending on the power required and the distance from the basement to the attic.

If you supply the information (rating of the baseboard heater and wire distance to the attic from the panel), we can help.
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-07, 05:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
same basic situation for me also.

now i ran 12-3 to the electrical box which is within 10 feet of the baseboard heater.

i have a 15 amp double pole breaker and an md26 line voltage thermostat from lowes.
i am guessing it is 240.

ok so there is the 12-3 coming from the breaker(not hooked up yet) to the thermostat.

the thermostat has 2 black and 2 red wires. it says the black is load and the red is line.

the heater is 1500 watt 6.3 amp

a little insight please
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-07, 06:22 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
You have what you need,red and black from panel to t-stat, (cap the white wire both ends) connect these to the reds on tstat.
from t-stat to base board 1 to each at heater, and to the blacks at t-stat(load). ground each location with the bare wire.
 
  #7  
Old 02-26-07, 05:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
i tried to post pics but i can not do it at all, sorry




from panel to thermostat

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1601/2099456/4963277/233791394.jpg


the thermostat
http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1601/2099456/4963277/233791456.jpg


this goes from the thermostat to the heater
http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1601/2099456/4963277/233791442.jpg

this one enters the heater
http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1601/2099456/4963277/233791413.jpg



and the heater
http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1601/2099456/4963277/233791466.jpg
 
  #8  
Old 02-26-07, 05:59 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Question

So, I don't have all the time to check your albums.

What do you need to know? You knew what to buy.. so what exactly do you need?
 
  #9  
Old 02-26-07, 06:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
i need to know what wires to hook up where. i tried to post pics so you wouldnt have to cut and paste. my acct doesnt allow me to do so here
 
  #10  
Old 02-26-07, 06:29 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
This should help

Originally Posted by lectriclee View Post
You have what you need,red and black from panel to t-stat, (cap the white wire both ends) connect these to the reds on tstat.
from t-stat to base board 1 to each at heater, and to the blacks at t-stat(load). ground each location with the bare wire.
I thought I coverd it. thats why I asked.


Perhaps start a new post.
 
  #11  
Old 02-26-07, 07:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
ok i read the forum here but here a " trick " with this %^&**() thermosat if this indeed a wall thermosat then you have to wire the line side to the red leads and the load side to the heater but make sure you have correct thermosat [ they come in inwall verison or baseboard mounted so watch out ]

and make sure you mark the wire[s] which one is line and load at the thermosat loaction to advoid the fireworks. [ i did see it happend before ]

if more question please do post it here

Merci , Marc
 
  #12  
Old 02-26-07, 08:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Question Answered

The only thing I can add from above is... Open the 2 blacks at the heater and wire one to the black and one to the red of the NM cable. Cap off the white on both ends. use wire nuts. strip the insulation back some more. So you can work with the conductors.

I saw the photos.

Next to that I'm not sure what else you need.
 
  #13  
Old 02-26-07, 08:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
let me add one more thing i did not get chance to edit this [ working long hours can do funny thing with your mind ]

i look at the photo of baseboard heater ok ,, on one end you see wirenut there all you have to remove that wire nut and hook up the line and move the wire nut to the other end but just one strict waring do not and i will say DO NOT by pass the safety thermosat you will see on one end of heater.

also for any DIY's useing the baseboard heater[s] { electric verison } the NEC code do not allow use the repectailes above the electric baseboard heater[s] it can be below of heater but never above it


Merci , Marc
 
  #14  
Old 02-27-07, 04:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
great information, i tend to get more info than i need but with electrical, i just want to be cautious

thanks, this will def help me
 
  #15  
Old 02-27-07, 04:47 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Thumbs up

i tend to get more info than i need ##


Thats ok. with this stuff the more the better. A little more pointed question could have helped. I just came to a dead end on what else you needed.

Good luck, use common sence and logic (hopefully some knowledge from us). Be safe.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'