How to detect the layout of a dead circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-03-06, 07:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 247
How to detect the layout of a dead circuit?

My friend has a dead GFCI recapticle in his bathroom. I opened it and found no power is supplied. But all the wires on the service panel has power. We know it probably goes to one of the recapticle boxes of the kitchen next to it. But we simply do not know how to trace it. We obviously do not want to open the wall and some of it is covered by ceramic tiles.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-03-06, 08:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No it probably does not go to the kitchen. bathrooms and kitchens are not generally on the same circuit. Depending on when the house or when it was remodeled (if it was brought up to code when remodeled), check other bathrooms, the garage, the basement, outside, and the garage.

As you have discovered, the time to determine your circuit layout is BEFORE you have a problem. Shame on your friend for not having done this.

What you have to do is determine what else in the house, if anything is without power. Check everything without power first. Then check EVERYTHING else in the house.

When you are all done and have fixed the problem, completely map out the house wiring. Not only is this information invaluable at a time like this, it could save your life.
 
  #3  
Old 04-03-06, 08:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 247
Thank you!

I checked the wire. It goes upto the attic, then down to the wall between the kitchen and the bathroom. Not sure if it goes around to another bathroom in the wall. I will check again in the other rooms.

I know it is killing me not to have a house wire mapping. There is even no any indication on the service panel as which wire goes to which room.

Is it possible I share the hot and neutral wire in the dual switch box close to the GFCI switch, and close out the dead wire. I notice there is still room to add a wire.
 
  #4  
Old 04-03-06, 09:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Originally Posted by lzhang
Is it possible I share the hot and neutral wire in the dual switch box close to the GFCI switch, and close out the dead wire. I notice there is still room to add a wire.
I don't know what you mean by this, but it doesn't sound good.

Find and fix the problem.
 
  #5  
Old 04-03-06, 09:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 247
I mean there is live wire inside the light and fan switch box, next to the GFCI recepticle. Can I rewire to that box, instead of installing a brand new wire to the panel in the garage downstairs?
 
  #6  
Old 04-03-06, 10:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Find and fix the problem. Do not run a new wire.
 
  #7  
Old 04-03-06, 10:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 247
Thanks. I might eventually leave the headache to pros.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes