adding a doorbell chime

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-03-06, 01:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
adding a doorbell chime

I have read past posts recommending wiring an additional chime in parallel by wiring between the chimes. But as I am only using one pushbutton, would it be possible to break on of the wires on the transformer to feed thru the added chime (wiring in series?), as it would be difficult to snake a wire back to the original chime. By the way, I am measuring 18.4 volts coming off the transformer.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-03-06, 01:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No, you cannot wire doorbells in series.
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-06, 06:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
Thank you Racraft for the quick response!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'