15 amp outlets on 20 amp circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-04-06, 08:14 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
15 amp outlets on 20 amp circuit?

is there any reason, other than cost, to install 15 amp outlets on a 20 amp circuit? i have a 20 amp circuit (20 amp breaker, 12/2 romex)for my attached garage that has two 15 amp outlets that i want to add more outlets to, but was thinking of switching them all to 20 amp outlets. any reason not to do this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-04-06, 08:25 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cost is the only issue.

I wouldn't do this if this circuit serves other ares of the house or has any high current devices on it, but if it serves only the garage and the receptacles are general purpose then go ahead if you want to.
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-06, 08:35 AM
itsunclebill's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO area
Posts: 221
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cost.

If you don't have any tools or equipment with a 20 AMP cord cap (plug) there is no reason to use 20 AMP receptacles. The only difference between the two in many cases is the front cover with the slots, and the price. Both types of receptacles are subjected to the same UL testing.

You aren't upgrading the wiring one bit by going to 20 AMP receptacles Money is much better spent, if you insist, on spec or hospital grade receptacles (these ought to last a homeowner a lifetime)
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-06, 08:53 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
interesting info. i guess i never believed that a 15 amp outlet would actually limit the amperage. would a 20 amp outlet hold up any better in cases of close to 15 amp power draw? i'm moving a treadmill out to the garage which is rated at 13 amps/120v, but interestingly enough the motor is rated at 17 amps/120v. so i'm guessing that there are peaks in there where the machine may be drawing over 15 amps.
 
  #5  
Old 04-04-06, 09:02 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I disagree with the "if you don't have a 20 amp plug on anything then don't install a 20 amp receptacle" argument.

The contractor I use for work on my house has several tools with a 20 amp plug that he likes to use. He can use them in my garage, as it has a 20 amp circuit and 20 amp receptacles. At other places he has to fire up the generator on his trailer or use another tool.

Now you can argue that providing for a contractor is not my responsibility, and that is correct. But consider who else you might invite over and what you might someday do in your own garage or in your own basement.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: