Ran out of line on dedicated run

Old 04-04-06, 05:53 PM
Ran out of line on dedicated run

Hello, my name is Lance and I am a newbie to this site. I am able to wire to code most of the time but am confused by the lack of clear instruction offered for pool/hottub wiring out there. I am not sure if this has been asked before so here I go. Thank you for your time.
1)
I am running a 20 A dedicated run for a above ground pool pump. I am running 10/2 because the run is 150'. I ran 100' of 10/2 and ran out. I have 25' to go before I reach the outside wall. Is it legal codewise to put a junction box and continue the 25' to my GFCI? My father'in'law says "no" but I do'nt always buy what he says. If it is against code can I just put my GFCI on the ceiling and start the 25' to the outside kill switch?
2)
I am running 20' feet of conduitunderground to my twist lock 20A outlet. How do you put together metal conduit and how is it held together? what diameter do I need to hod the underground wires? I am running the three individual underground strands.
thanks,
Lance

Sponsored Links
Old 04-04-06, 06:01 PM
Pool wiring is not easy.

You can put in a junction box, but any junction boxes must be permanently accessible. So in other words, they cannot be buried. Instead of a junction box, I would buy a larger spool of wire. Every junction is a potential failure point.
You cannot use 10/2, at least not outside. Everything outside must have an insulated ground wire. 10/2 cable is acceptable inside, but not outside.

Old 04-04-06, 06:08 PM
Originally Posted by racraft
Pool wiring is not easy.

You can put in a junction box, but any junction boxes must be permanently accessible. So in other words, they cannot be buried. Instead of a junction box, I would buy a larger spool of wire. Every junction is a potential failure point.
You cannot use 10/2, at least not outside. Everything outside must have an insulated ground wire. 10/2 cable is acceptable inside, but not outside.