At what point do you use outdoor cable ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-10-06, 10:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nassau
Posts: 51
At what point do you use outdoor cable ?

I want to install an outdoor fixture. The switch is located inside the house. At what point do I "convert" it from an indoor NM cable to an outdoor cable ? Or do I just use outdoor cable from the switch to the fixture ?

Thanks,
Scott
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-10-06, 11:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You can convert it at the switch (or earlier) or you can wait until just before it leaves the house. Remember that the conversion needs to be at a permanently accessible junction box.
 
  #3  
Old 04-10-06, 11:24 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Is it running underground, along a wall, or through the air?

I suspect that you need more than just outdoor cable [sic].
 
  #4  
Old 04-10-06, 11:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nassau
Posts: 51
Thanks for the quick responses!

The source is coming from the basement to the switch box. From the switch box, I would run the outdoor cable. Continues up the wall and across the ceiling to the exterior wall.

What else do I need besides the outdoor cable ? conduit ?
 
  #5  
Old 04-10-06, 11:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Where is the cable outdoors? Where is it going?
 
  #6  
Old 04-10-06, 12:16 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Originally Posted by Scott_K
What else do I need besides the outdoor cable?
I'm still wondering what "outdoor cable" is. The cable company uses outdoor cable for cable TV. But you cannot use that for electrical.

From your description, it doesn't even sound like it is outdoors.

But if it is, you probably need conduit.
 
  #7  
Old 04-12-06, 12:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nassau
Posts: 51
On the front porch there is shingled overhang. That's where I'd like to put a light fixture (i.e. highhat).

There is an outlet on the outside of my garage. A black cable that comes out of the ground (source is from the house), into the outdoor outlet and then into his garage. I'm thinking that it's a cable that is designed to withstand weather. The front porch and garage are totally seperate. I'm just using the garage as an example to help explain what I'm refering to as "outdoor cable". The cable seems like it has a thicker insulating jacket around it.

Does this make any sense ?

Thanks,
Scott
 
  #8  
Old 04-12-06, 12:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No it does not make any sense.
 
  #9  
Old 04-12-06, 01:29 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Originally Posted by Scott_K
On the front porch there is shingled overhang.
If the box is in the wall of your house, it is not outdoors. It should see neither sunshine nor rain, nor should there be any sand or pebbles in your wall that might cut it..


> There is an outlet on the outside of my garage.
> A black cable that comes out of the ground
> (source is from the house), into the outdoor outlet and then into
> his garage.

Whose garage? Do you suppose the installer was a real electrician and did it correctly? It sounds like an improper installation.


> I'm thinking that it's a cable that is designed to withstand weather.

Great, but how much weather do you get in the walls of your house?


> The cable seems like it has a thicker insulating jacket around it.

Could be. But you may use "indoor" cable indoors.
So forget about using something else that might or might not be the correct type anyway.
 
  #10  
Old 04-13-06, 06:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nassau
Posts: 51
Ok, yes it will be inside of a mansard (I think that's what it's called). It will not see rain, daylight,etc. It is not insulated, so by saying "outdoor cable", I guess my main concern is the temperature fluxuations, but now thinking it through, I have wiring in my attic that would undergo the same temperature swings. So I guess it's safe to use regular NM cable ?

I have to find out about this black cable I have (really curious). I've also seen it in one of my books or at Homedepot. Maybe I'm thinking of a cable that is designed to be used underground ?

I have no idea who wired the garage. It's probably been there for quite some time. It probably wouldn't pass code these days. I guess I have to look into getting that upgraded as well.

Thanks,
Scott
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'