Generator Beackfeed question

Old 04-12-06, 02:04 PM
Generator Beackfeed question

Hello

This is my first time posting. I spent the past hour reading all about generator backfeeding, or, more like reading about how it is against the law and not an accepted practice by any means. I have to say that I was JUST about to do this exact thing. I live in South Florida and just bought a 5k watt generator and I was about to make a male to male 220 volt plug to go from my generator to my dryer outlet to power my home and control the items i want to power by using the breaker switches. My uncle said to do it as long as I turn off the main outside - he did it last year during Wilma.

But as I said, we didnt know it was illegal, not to mention unsafe for line workers (by means of leakage). So needless to say we wont be doing that again. BUT, i am also trying to avoid paying the $$ for a transfer switch.

Which brings me to my questions.

First I have to decide, what exactly would I want power for? I mean, high powered items? Central A/C for a 1500 square foot house - i dont know how many watts that is but a voice in my head says my 5k isnt big enough. (so im going to get a wall unit a/c for emergencies). My kitchen fridge, and my hot water heater.

Here is my question. I dont want to pay several hundred dollars to have a transfer switch installed just to heat my hot water heater up. Since I can use extension cords to run the fridge i wont need a transfer switch for that either. My hot water heater is hard wired and takes 220v. How can I use the generator to heat that water heater up without backfeeding and without the expense of a transfer switch? Would it be more economical to have an electrician convert the 220 hard wire into a 220 v outlet so that it can be plugged and unplugged like the electric clothes dryer? Then I can run a 220v extension cord from the generator to the electric water heater.

Am i on the right track? Thanks.

multi007