Jenn Air range hood does not function

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-12-06, 04:07 PM
venik
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Jenn Air range hood does not function

I bought a new Jenn-Air hood (JXT5830) to install over the range in my kitchen. I then connected the wires as per the instructions, but none of the front lights or functions worked. The company is the worst imaginable-- no help at all to installers, so I must rely on my friends here. I connected the hot wire from the wall to the black wire of the hood, the innert wire to the white wire of the hood, and the green-yellow wire to the ground of the wall socket. I made sure the wall socket functions.
Can anyone tell me what is the secret to getting this thing to work?
Thanks--
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-12-06, 05:17 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 930
It sounds like you have the wiring correct, and you do probably have a dud. Have you tried returning it to the store where it was purchased? I jus checked their website, and there is a one year warantee. This is a $750 list hood, and I can't believe JennAire won't honor their warranty. You might be interested in this:
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/jennaire.html
Stay on them until you get some results
 

Last edited by Andrew; 04-12-06 at 05:28 PM.
  #3  
Old 04-12-06, 08:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I don't trust your connections.

First you mention connecting the wires to wires in the wall, but then you mention connecting the ground to a socket.

You need a direct connection for this. You are not allowed to tap into a wall receptacle that serves the kitchen counter top.

Make sure that you have 120 volts at the wires you connect to the hood.
 
  #4  
Old 04-12-06, 10:10 PM
venik
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry for the confusion. I connected the hood's wires to a heavy duty wire plugged into a socket that was previously used for a microwave oven. I tested the socket, and it does work.
 
  #5  
Old 04-13-06, 02:44 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Originally Posted by venik
Sorry for the confusion.
Do you have photos? A picture would help a lot.


> I connected the hood's wires to a heavy duty wire

What exactly is a "heavy duty wire"? Type and gauge?


> plugged into a socket

What exactly is a "socket"?


> I tested the socket, and it does work.

How do you know that your "heavy duty wire" works?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'