Necessity of GFI on a hot tub?

Old 04-14-06, 11:43 PM
Necessity of GFI on a hot tub?

I have a few questions. I'm going to attempt to install a 220 link from my junction box outside my house, under my deck (2nd level) and to my hot tub (sitting on my deck on the second level of my house). I just started learning about GFI's and hot tubs. The wiring I got is 40 amp. However the GFI boxes I found are all 60amp or 50 amp. Can i use these on my 40amp wiring (the hot tub calls for 40 amp). Also as of now i have not purchased a GFI unit at all, and am somewhat skeptical if i really need one (i know i'm going to get alot of ..hehe shock from that statement in the ensuing replies but i want to learn everything). I plan to run my outdoor wiring all in conduit piping, then from the end of the piping in water tight outdoor flexible tubing into the heater element of my tub. Assuming i run all this into a 40amp breaker in my breaker box (inside my house/basement) will i be alive in a year from now? What realistically can happen if it is all enclosed in conduit and set to a circuit breaker? I dont really want to cough up the additional$130 for the GFI unit if it isnt necessary, and i dont really care about code, but i do care about realistic safty (I have a 4 year old daughter who uses the hot tub with me). Also i have a LED light on the side of the tub (enclosed) and was reading that the lights are typically what cause electrocution, but...seeing how enclosed it is (i could reinforce it) i dont really see it as being a problem. Also the 220 wiring would go underneath the hot tub, and not run anywhere near anyone's feet, and with it being on a deck the water cannot pool anywhere on the deck itself. Also i was reading that hot tubs should technically be ok without the GFI if it is properly grounded (I'm not sure if "it" reffers to the ground on the heater element, or the breaker in my breaker box). Also on a final note my instructions show 4 wires going to the heater box, 2 relat