Electrical service to garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-19-06, 08:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Electrical service to garage

I am going to have new power service run to my detached garage from the house. I have 200 AMP service running into the house and have plenty of room for more breakers. I have a workshop in the garage and have power tools that draw 15-20 AMPS (one at a time). Should I put in 100 AMP service (panel) in the garage or something less?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-19-06, 08:45 AM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
If you want to run the hefty cable for 100 amp, and can connect it into the main, go for it.. 60 amp could be an option..
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-06, 08:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
The size panel is one consideration. However, the panel can be larger than the breaker in the main panel.

I recommend a 100 amp sub panel in the garage. However, you don;t have to feed this with 100 amps. Feed it with 60 amps, if you think that is enough.

However, I also recommend feeding with individual conductors in conduit so that you can change the feed later if you need to upgrade.
 
  #4  
Old 04-19-06, 10:58 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
> I also recommend feeding with individual conductors in conduit so that
> you can change the feed later if you need to upgrade.

Corollary recommendation: run conduit large enough to hold the largest conductors that you might want to use.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'