running conduits below joists

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-06, 04:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
running conduits below joists

I am planning to do wiring for my basement ,Is it possible to run wires through conduits and fasten the conduits to the lower edges of the joists, rather than running wires through them, I am trying to avoid cutting through joists to run the wires
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-06, 05:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cables run below the joists in residential basements require protection.

Conduit of any sort is generally considered sufficient protection in residential basements. When you run cable in conduit, you must be careful to meet the conduit fill rules.

You also have the option of using 'running boards', which are simply boards run along the bottom of the joists, to which cables may be stapled. This is considered as providing sufficient protection, presumably from people hanging things on the cables.

-Jon
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-06, 07:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
running wires from the control panel

I have one more question related to that subject, it's about running the wires from the control panel. All the wiring going to the house are taking off from the top of the control panel. Now for wiring the basement can I route the wires from the bottom of the control panel, run them below it, stapled to a board of OSB, then direct them upwards to reach the joists. I am trying to get around the control panel to reach the joists, since there is no room above it. My point is, in order to do what I am planning to, the wires will be closer to the floor since they will run below the control panel, and I am addind almost 15 circuits,I have enough room in my two 200 amps control panels for the breakers. but do I need to run those wires through conduits and run the conduits below the control panels or I can just run the wires, I mean without conduits, the way I described
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-06, 08:06 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
> can I route the wires from the bottom of the breaker panel,
> run them below it, stapled to a board of OSB, then direct them
> upwards to reach the joists.

Yes, sounds fine.


> do I need to run those wires through conduits and run the conduits
> below the control panels
Usually no.

> I can just run the wires, I mean without conduits, the way I described
Usually yes.


If you are using so much conduit, why not put the entire run inside conduit?
Its faster, easier, and cheaper (you can use 1/2" conduit).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: