Wiring AE115 Water Heater

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-06, 09:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Wiring AE115 Water Heater

This is a variant on the AE125 thread posted by someone else earlier.

I have a two story house and don't have easy access to the space between the first and second floors. The junction panel is in the garage on the first floor. I want to run the two runs of 8 gauge necessary for this install through conduit along the wall and ceiling to get across the garage to where the water comes in. Is this legal (having the conduit mounted to the wall)? Do I have to run the two 8-2 gauge bundles in seperate conduit?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-06, 09:56 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
>This is a variant on the AE125 thread posted by someone else earlier.

Do you read through that thread?


> I have a two story house and don't have easy access to the space
> between the first and second floors.
> The junction panel is in the garage on the first floor.
> I want to run the two runs of 8 gauge necessary for this install

Do you to go with the bare minimum required?


> through conduit along the wall and ceiling to get across the garage
> to where the water comes in.
> Is this legal (having the conduit mounted to the wall)?
As long as you won't damage it, yes.
It you might bump it everytime you pull the car in, no.

> Do I have to run the two 8-2 gauge bundles in separate conduit?

No. What are "bundles"? Circuits?

If you run this in conduit the whole way, you need 1 #8 EGC and 4 ungrounded conductors.

What distance is this run? How much will it be used?
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-06, 06:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Yes I read the other thread and it did not answer all my questions.

By bundles I meant circuits (wire bundles i.e. each 8-2 set of wires).

No I won't hit it with the car. I plan on routing it straight up from the service box, along the ceiling and then down the rear wall to the water heater.

The distance involved is about 30 feet.

Are you sure about only needing 1 #8 EGC? The other thread said that you need two.
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-06, 07:38 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
> By bundles I meant circuits (wire bundles i.e. each 8-2 set of wires).

If you use 8/2 cables, then you will have two EGCs, one for each raceway.


>> If you run this in conduit the whole way,
>> you need 1 #8 EGC and 4 ungrounded conductors.
> Are you sure about needing only 1 #8 EGC?
Correct: if you run this in conduit the whole way.


If you use two cables or two conduits, you have to use two EGCs.

If you use one conduit and individual conductors (no cables), then you need one EGC.

You tell us the wiring method you selected, we'll tell you the EGC requirement.


> The other thread said that you need two.
One #6 EGC. It was over 100A; yours is not. Even at that, it was debatable whether he really needed more than one #8. Yours is similar but smaller.
You need one #10 Cu. One #8 Cu is better and unquestionably adequate for the utilization equipment.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'