Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

In General, how can I add a spotlight outside of our garage?

In General, how can I add a spotlight outside of our garage?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-06, 10:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question In General, how can I add a spotlight outside of our garage?

Hello,

Can someone please describe to me how an electrician would add additional lighting outside of our garage? Our home is about 18 years old. Our garage has several inside outlets, as well as a lighting fixture on top of the (front) of the garage doors and a lighting fixture above the back door. I would like to add a spotlight on the SIDE (the dark side) of the garage, and wonder how involve this would be? The garage is covered with natural shingles, and the inside of the garage has sheetrock (and some concrete at the bottom of the walls). How large of a hole would this create in terms of the OUTSIDE of our garage? Our shingles are fairly new. My husband might not like me having a new hole in our garage. Is this a routine job? How about adding a lightpost outside? Thanks so much! Betty
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-06, 01:18 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
> My husband might not like me having a new hole in our garage.
I would cut up through the soffit somewhere and put a box there.
I would cover it with a round base for the spotlight(s) that would hide my 4" hole completely.


> How about adding a lightpost outside?
If you dug a trench 26" deep (19" deep if you'll never drive over it) that passed under the wall, I'd do that for you.
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-06, 05:12 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
You would need to consider switching, also. Will it operate at the same time as the other exterior lights, or will it be separately switched? You may have to run a switch leg to a switch at a convenient location in order to control it separately. But the soffit installation is best, as it keeps you from drilling a hole in your siding.
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-06, 05:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing the light is one thing, getting power to it is another. Do you want the light switched or not. Even if it is not switched and you use a motion and/or light sensor, I still recommend a switch somewhere so you can turn it off when you really want it off, although in this case the switch does not have to be in a prime location.

To run power either a new circuit is run from the panel, or an existing circuit is tapped. To tap an existing circuit, it needs to be a circuit that can handle the load. Depending on where power will come from and on where the switch will be located, cable or conduit will be run.
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-06, 05:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 526
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I got a solar powered one for mine. Made by Zenith, got it at HD. I was somewhat sceptical but it works very well so far.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: