How to wire (3) #10 awg together?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-22-06, 08:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
How to wire (3) #10 awg together?

Line into my new shed is (3) #10 awg THHN wires. It's all run in PVC conduit and will be off it's own 20 amp circuit from my garage. I know it's overkill but it's what I had on hand. After figuring out the wiring diagram for my light switch, I realize that I need to connect 3 of these wires together. I have not seen a wire nut to handle 3 #10 wires, is there such an animal? If not, what are my options here?

Thanks, this site has been invaluable to me!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-22-06, 09:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
A red Ideal Wing Nut will do it fine. A grey Ideal Twister will do it more easily.
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-06, 09:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Thanks Mac!
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-06, 05:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Note that #10 may be too large to attach to receptacles and switches, so you may need to switch to #12 pigtails or even to using # 12 completely in the shed.
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-06, 08:00 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,438
If this conduit is outside or buried I hope that the wire you had on-hand was dual rated THHN/THWN. TNHHN is not rated for use in the wet environment of the conduit.
 
  #6  
Old 04-23-06, 01:08 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
> TNHHN is not rated for use in the wet environment of the conduit.

When people say THHN, don't they usually mean THHN-2?
 
  #7  
Old 04-23-06, 04:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Already wired up the shed, the 20 amp receptacles take the #10 (thankfully), thanks Racraft. I have one lightswitch for an small flourescent and two 20 amp receptacles, first being GFCI. The wire does have THWN written on it, and I went by distant memory and I assumed that signified "wet", so I looked it up in my book and it's the right stuff. It is also in completely sealed PVC conduit as well.

Looking back, I would've just gone out and bought #12, it would've been easier. Amateur mistake but I did find a use for the stuff anyway.

Thanks everyone, you've been very helpful!
 
  #8  
Old 04-24-06, 04:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by Powerstroke
Line into my new shed is (3) #10 awg THHN wires. It's all run in PVC conduit and will be off it's own 20 amp circuit from my garage. I know it's overkill but it's what I had on hand. After figuring out the wiring diagram for my light switch, I realize that I need to connect 3 of these wires together. I have not seen a wire nut to handle 3 #10 wires, is there such an animal? If not, what are my options here?

Thanks, this site has been invaluable to me!
ok i have to ask y do u have to nut the 3 # 10s togeather??????? and yes they do make a wire nut the will do 3 # 10 go to a electrical supply store or stop an electrical company the should sell u a few for a few cents
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'