what size

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-23-06, 03:34 PM
builditmymself's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: gulf coast
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what size

wire do you have to use for service from meter to breaker panel 200amp.

also what size wire do i need to run for my double wall oven its a maytag 24" oven Model# cwe5800acb i looked the model # up at mayteg.com but all its says about house wire is this..

"Most local building regulations and codes require that all electrical wiring be donne by licensed electricians.All wiring should conform to Local or National Electrical Codes.This oven requires a single phase three wire 120/240 or a 120/208 volt,60hz.Ac circuit.Wiring Codes require that seprarate circuit be run from the main entrace panel to oven and that it be equipped with separate disconnect switch and fuses,either in the main entrace panel or in a separate switch and fuse box." it doesn't say how many amps it pulls or what size wire Your suppose to use...any help would be great......Thanks chad
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-23-06, 03:42 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what size wire do you have to use for service from meter to breaker panel 200amp.
ok for 200 amp resdentail panel box genrally use either 2/0 or 3/0 copper or 4/0 or 250Kcm alum wire depending on how hevey 200 amp panel board load up genreally 3/0 copper and 4/0 alum is most common for resdentail usage
ground wire from panel board to ground rod is #4 bare wire

also what size wire do i need to run for my double wall oven its a maytag 24" oven Model# cwe5800acb i looked the model # up at mayteg.com but all its says about house wire is this..
ok for double oven wall mounted type genrally use 30 amp with 10 -3 wire but as i will warn here please double check the name plate it might be diffrent some can go high as 40 amp or more so please double check the name plate when you get this wall oven appalince

all the wire for cooktop or wall oven or range will required 4 wire anyway due the code requirements.

if need more question please do drop a line here

Merci , Marc
 
  #3  
Old 04-24-06, 08:56 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 121
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As for your stove

As for your stove, see if they have any info about wattage. Today's typical stoves range anywhere from 30 to 50 amps. If it were me I would put in a 6-3 wire for the stove but would check mfg for specs for breaker size in case you made need a 30 or 40 amp. good luck.
 
  #4  
Old 04-24-06, 09:11 PM
builditmymself's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: gulf coast
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well

i called maytag service and they couldnt tell me what the amps was so i did a google search and found this A" three way single phase a.c 120/240 volt,60hz cycle electrical system protected by a 30 amp fuse or comparable circuit breaker must be provided."

so i should be able to run 10-3 with a 30 amp breaker.....


Total Connected Load - kW @ 240V/208V: 6.5/4.9
 
  #5  
Old 04-25-06, 11:16 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
30 Amps should do it.

6,500 Watts / 240 Volts = 27.08 Amps

4,900 Watts / 208 Volts = 23.56 Amps
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: