Grounding old outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-25-06, 08:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Grounding old outlets

Im am attempting to add grounding capability to my homes outlets. The home was built in the 1950's so there were no ground wires run to the two prong outlets. There are three main 15 amp circuits that feed all of the outlets in the house. Can I simply use 3 GFI's at the first outlet in each circuit to acheive grounding in all the outlets?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-25-06, 08:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No. A GFCI receptacle does not provide a ground where no ground already exists.

A GFCI receptacle does allow you to safely plug in and use an electrical device that requires a ground for safety reasons. You are then allowed to use three prong receptacles on any portion of the circuit that is GFCI protected. However, no ground is provided, and devices that need or want a ground for proper operation may not function properly.

The only way to ground an ungrounded receptacle is to run a ground wire to the receptacle from an allowed source. The best source is the ground bar in the panel supplying the circuit, although depending on what country you are in and where the receptacle is located there may be other options.

In your case I suggest that you leave the existing circuits alone, and instead that you run new circuits, adding new receptacles to supplement the existing ones. The new receptacles you add will be properly grounded, and you will be able to limit what is on each circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 04-25-06, 08:41 AM
raider1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Logan, Utah
Posts: 31
Can I simply use 3 GFI's at the first outlet in each circuit to acheive grounding in all the outlets?
This will not provide grounding for your outlets. To "acheive grounding in all outlets" you must rewire the circuit to provide a equipment grounding conductor.

Chris
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'