Oh yes, Another 3-way circuit question...

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-27-06, 11:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Oh yes, Another 3-way circuit question...

Okay, have done the searches on the threads, but to no avail to this beauty.
In the good ol' home depot wiring book, a three way circuit is set up like this (- 12/2 = 12/3)
Circuit: Power - Light - S1 = S2.
Naturally I extrapolated this to add L2, L3, and L4 when I did my wiring before finishing the basement.

The boys just finished the texture, and I just finished painting.
Went to hook up the electrical, and as the other 10,489 3-way posts had 4 nicely dimmed lights. For romance this would have been great, for a storage area and closet, not so good.

Can someone verify if out of the dozen of methods to hook up a 3 way circuit, this option is not one suited to multiple fixtures? Also, how can I rectify this as I have power to the fixture vs a S1?
Thanks in advance!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-28-06, 12:18 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Welcome, zzz.

> a three way circuit is set up like this (- 12/2 = 12/3)
> Circuit: Power - Light - S1 = S2.

That's one way, but not the cleanest.

> Naturally I extrapolated this to add L2, L3, and L4
> when I did my wiring before finishing the basement.

I can't read your mind.
So I have no idea what you think is the natural extrapolation.

> The boys just finished the texture, and I just finished painting.
> Went to hook up the electrical, and as the other 10,489
> 3-way posts had 4 nicely dimmed lights.
> For romance this would have been great, for a storage area
> and closet, not so good.

So what did you do, hook black to white at every light?

> Can someone verify if out of the dozen of methods to hook up
> a 3 way circuit, this option is not one suited to multiple
> fixtures?
You didn't say how L2 is connected, etc.
That might be all that you got wrong.


> Also, how can I rectify this as I have power to the fixture vs at S1?

Just hook it up correctly.

You have cable 0 with black (B0) and white (W0) bringing power in to L1.
You have cable 1 going from L1 to S1.
You have cable 2 going from L1 to L2.
You have cable 3 going from L2 to L3.
You have cable 4 going from L3 to L4.
You have cable 9 (12/3) going from S1 to S2.

Connect B0 to P1 (white re-marked some other color) going to the box of S1 and then to P9 (white re-marked some other color) to S2common (black screw).

Connect W0 to L1W (white of L1) and to W2 running to L2.
Connect B1 from S1common (black screw) to L1B (black of L1) and to B2 running to L2.

At L2, connect W2 to L2W and to W3 running to L3.
Connect B2 to L2B and to B3 running to L3.

At L3, connect W3 to L3W and to W4 running to L4.
Connect B3 to L3B and to B4 running to L4.

At L4, connect W4 to L4W. Connect B4 to L4B.


At S1, connect P1 to P9 as mentioned above.
Connect B1 to SW1common (black screw) as mentioned above.
Connect R9 to one brass screw on S1.
Connect B9 to the other brass screw on S1.

At S2, connect P9 to S2common (black screw).
Connect R9 to one brass screw on S2.
Connect B9 to the other brass screw on S2.
 

Last edited by bolide; 04-28-06 at 12:28 AM.
  #3  
Old 04-28-06, 04:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
If you did the following:

power - L1 - L2 - L3 - L4 - S1 = S2
(where - means 12/2 and = means 12/3)

Then you are stuck. There is no way to hook this up without wiring or hardware modifications.

You need to bring power to S1 or S2. There are numerous ways that you can do this, but they all involve either adding another cable, or replacing the lights with something remote controlled and then using the cable that you have to supply unswitched power.

-Jon
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-06, 07:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Hello Bolide and Jon,
Bolide, thanks for the detailed response, I went through it around 3am in the morning here in Denver. Always fun, however Jon hit the nail on the head and I wired a loser circuit.

Unless I rip open the drywall upon which I would die a quick death care of my lovely wife, my power to L1 is fixed.

I might have a slim option to just cap off the power coming into L1, then run power to the switch or L1 n the storage area. L1 and L4 reverse in this scenario where L4 becomes L1.

If I sent it to the switch it would look like:
P - S1 / S1 - F1 / S1 = S2, F1 - F2 - F3 - F4.

or should I send it to the light?
Would this be workable?
Thanks again!!!
 
  #5  
Old 04-28-06, 07:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If you can run power into either switch or into the light atached to a switch then you will be able to make changes.
 
  #6  
Old 05-03-06, 10:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks!

Just wanted to follow up and say a big thanks as I was able to sneak a wire through and hook it up per B's detailed notes.
Appreciate the help and this board.
Best Regards,
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'