Wiring to hot tub

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-30-06, 03:27 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring to hot tub

I have just wired my hot tub, through my GFCI and when I powered the main breaker everything was good. When I powered the GFCI, it tripped the main breaker.

Any reason for this?
 
  #2  
Old 04-30-06, 04:59 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You either have a ground fualt, mis-wired GFCI, or no neutral on the GFCI breaker (the tail needs connected to neutral, even for 240V only loads)
 
  #3  
Old 04-30-06, 05:12 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the main breaker tripped then you either have the GFCI itself wired wrong, a bad GFCI or a real problem with the wiring at the tub.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: