15A vs 20A Circuit Breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-01-06, 06:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NW FL
Posts: 152
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
15A vs 20A Circuit Breaker

I am having a wall mounted plasma TV installed w/ a 20A transient voltage surge suppressor receptacle. The handyman I am using says that the 15A circuit breaker in my panel has to be replaced to match the 20A surge suppressor outlet. My brother is saying that the 15A circuit breaker is OK, but I would have to rewire w/ 12/2 if I replaced the 15A circuit breaker w/ a 20A circuit breaker.

Please advise!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-06, 06:42 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
True on all counts. To use this 20a device you would need to use a 20 amp breaker, requiring #12 wire.
You CANNOT simply change the breaker to 20, nor can you use the 20 amp receptacle on a 15 amp circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-06, 07:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NW FL
Posts: 152
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete,

Thanks for the reply.

I was hoping I could get by using the 20A surge supressor receptacle w/ the 15A circuit breaker, but I guess I'll have to order a 15A surge supressor receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: