hot tub gfi gone bad

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-08-06, 11:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
hot tub gfi gone bad

I have a hot tub that i put into service the other day and it started up fine for about two hours then the 40 amp stablok gfi tripped to the off position. Normally when these trip they trip half way.When i go to energize the gfi again it always trips to the off position not trip position.Is it possible the breaker is fried as i know these things dont last.
Any help would be appreciated.
thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-09-06, 12:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
It's far more likely that there is a problem with the installation of the wiring. Two hours would be reasonable for water to get somewhere where it shouldn't and keep a ground fault somewhere.

Who did the installation?
 
  #3  
Old 05-09-06, 12:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
this tub was installed 13 years ago.never had a problem.I disconnected the load side of the gfi and it still trips to the off position.
 
  #4  
Old 05-09-06, 01:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
It was installed 13 years ago and put into service "the other day?" Just making sure.

GFCI breakers DO go bad; it's possible you just need to replace it, but while you have your load side disconnected check its hots and neutral to ground for continuity or resistance.
 
  #5  
Old 05-09-06, 01:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
thanks for the advice but like i said the breaker goes right to the off position when power is supplied not the trip position which has me puzzled.
 
  #6  
Old 05-09-06, 08:55 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,342
Originally Posted by MAC702
It was installed 13 years ago and put into service "the other day?" Just making sure.
Perhaps he means, "put into service...for the summer".
 
  #7  
Old 05-09-06, 10:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
yes thats right it was put into service for the summer
 
  #8  
Old 05-09-06, 12:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Originally Posted by ibpooks
Perhaps he means, "put into service...for the summer".
Yeah, I thought of that later. It was late...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'