Diode replacement help

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-10-06, 08:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 209
Diode replacement help

Ok guys I'm in need of a little bit of help here. I blew a Fast Recovery Diode in one of my amps and I cant get the original part, because only one place carries it and they want a minium of a $100 order, but I only need 2 pieces. Now I dont know anything about these diodes, so I need to know if I can use the following diode in the place of the original one.


Here is the ORIGINAL PART and Specs (click on image to enlarge) YG225D2
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a20...eet_Page_1.jpg


Here is the REPLACEMENT PART (MUR1620CT)
http://www.onsemi.com/pub/Collateral/MUR1620CT-D.PDF


Now on the replacement part all MAZ ratings are a little bit higher than the ORIGINAL part. The only thing that is lower in the replacement part is the replacement part is 8Amps and the Original part is rated at 10 amps. I have no clue if I can use this part or not, but I hope I can because the original is nowhere to be found.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-10-06, 10:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: MO
Posts: 206
I did a quick search for the diode, it is made by Fuji. Here is the link to all the companies. Hope this helps.

http://search.yahoo.com/search?ei=ut...25c2%2cn2%2cd2
 
  #3  
Old 05-10-06, 11:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 209
Originally Posted by Rob61
I did a quick search for the diode, it is made by Fuji. Here is the link to all the companies. Hope this helps.

http://search.yahoo.com/search?ei=ut...25c2%2cn2%2cd2

Most of these sites are Broker sites and dont sell parts in small amounts. They are the samething as Fuji most of them want a Min orer of $100, that is why I would like to know if the MUR1620CT will work in the place of the YG225D2, because I can get them is small amounts
 
  #4  
Old 05-11-06, 05:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 510
Digi-Key has MUR1620CT rated at 16A from both IR and On for a bit over a buck each.

Note:

This forum is 99% involved with electrical issues, mostly related to residential electrical wiring. Try posting to:

www.diyaudio.com

which is more involved with audio electronics.
 
  #5  
Old 05-11-06, 09:11 PM
scott e.'s Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Anderson, IN
Posts: 412
You might see if you could get a company to sample them to you. When I was in school, I got electronics companies to give me a couple of parts as a "sample". It is worth a try.
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-06, 12:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
Originally Posted by griffelkin2002
so I need to know if I can use the following diode in the place of the original one.
Your Back.
-
No. the Polarity is wrong.
-
I think e-Bay had some that may work, but that was last month or two.
 
  #7  
Old 05-12-06, 09:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
GWIZ was first to notice that the polarity is wrong on your replacement is completely ruled out. You also picked a replacement with an 8A max rating, where the original was 10A rated. This also should be a flag.

I haven't shopped for this kind of stuff since the days when the catalog was printed, but liked this company a lot at that time:
www.mouser.com
 
  #8  
Old 05-13-06, 09:06 PM
frhrwa's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deer Park WA
Posts: 521
Nuts and Volts forum is mostly a bunch of Electronic whizzes.. these guys are great and are always willing to help out.. most likely one of them will have the diode you need without having to come up with a $100 order.. http://www.servomagazine.com/forum/
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes