Help with 2" "LB" in wall

Old 05-12-06, 07:48 AM
Help with 2" "LB" in wall

Hi, I am installing a 2" schd 40 PVC conduit for a generator coming in my house. I intend to put an LB outside right against the wall of the house. Once inside I need the wire to go up inside that wall. I intend to sheetrock there and I'm not sure how to make the 90 degree turn in the wall. Should I use another LB? I am wondering if there is another alternative because if I do that I need to fur out the studs another 2 inches to accomodate the LB. I was going to run 3 legs of #2 and 1 leg of #8.
Thanks,

Sponsored Links
Old 05-12-06, 09:02 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Can you LB straight into the back of the box without the need for the second bend inside the wall?

Old 05-12-06, 09:31 AM
Are you saying to put a junction box at the backside of the LB? I guess I could do that. What type of box can I use for #2 or #4 wires?

Old 05-12-06, 09:45 AM
Access Pull Bodies

First, let me say I'm not an electrician so I'll defer to the experts if this is legal or NEC compliant but I think you might actually be able to cover this finished solution with sheetrock since it is not a junction box.

Take one access pull body on the outside and make the 90 degree turn into the house. Take a short nipple of Sch 40 and connect another access pull body so it is turned to go up the wall to your final destination for the wire.

Since nothing is joined together in the access pull bodies, I'm thinking the one inside the stud bay could be covered over by the sheetrock.

Again, I'll defer to the experts. I'm looking forward to the replies. Be kind if this is illegal. Just trying to help.

Old 05-12-06, 09:53 AM
That is what I was saying but If I do that I'll need to fur out the wall about 2" to accomodate the depth of the LB. It is only a 2X4 wall. If that's what it takes then so be it I guess.

Old 05-12-06, 11:01 AM
Take up the space outside