adding a ceiling fan

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-17-06, 02:34 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
adding a ceiling fan

i want to pigtail a recitcal(bad spelling) and add a ceilng fan, so basically i want to get rid of the outlet and then pigtail the wire and run it to the attic then to the ceiling fan. the fan wont overload the circuit. is that alowed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-17-06, 03:26 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why would you want to eliminate the receptacle? Leave the receptacle in place and tap the circuit, if it's a legitimate circuit to tap.

As long as the circuit does not serve the kitchen, the dining room or a bathroom, you can likely tap it.
 
  #3  
Old 05-18-06, 01:30 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how do you do that?
 
  #4  
Old 05-18-06, 02:04 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What were you planning on doing after you took the receptacle out?
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-06, 04:39 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just putting a blank cover on it.
 
  #6  
Old 05-19-06, 05:17 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Let's back up.

You want to add a ceiling fan, and you want to get power from a receptacle. Do you want to add a switch for the fan? Do you want to install just a fan, or also a light?

What room in your house are we talking about? What does this circuit presently serve (what rooms, what devices, what loads)?

We need to determine if the circuit can legally be tapped. We need to determine if the circuit has the capacity to support a fan.

What room is above this ceiling? What room is below this room?
 
  #7  
Old 05-19-06, 08:35 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1 story house attic is above. the recep. is already connected to a switch the room is the master bedroom. yes i want to add a light to the fan. Its controls 3 recep. in the bedroom
 
  #8  
Old 05-19-06, 08:42 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is probably easier to grab power from the switch than from a receptacle. You must decide if you want the receptacles to remain switched with the light, or if you want the receptacles to be always hot. You may or may not have a choice about this. What are ALL the wires in the switch box, and how are they connected?

Also, do you want the fan and light to both be switched? If so, separately or together?
 
  #9  
Old 05-19-06, 09:22 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
at work i will get the wires when i get home i dont care it i manually have to turn the lights on
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: