Another question on aluminum cable

Old 05-19-06, 07:33 AM
Another question on aluminum cable

I just read the aluminum wiring thread and got scared. I was going to bury an aluminum direct burial cable 2-2-2-4 between main disconnect and pump panel. I know I have to scrape the ends off with a wire brush and use antioxidant paste. Isn't that enough?

I have no experience with aluminum cable/wire. Do you suggest I stay with copper? Please advise where I can buy copper direct burial cable, say 4-4-4-6 or 2-2-2-4. The only reason I chose aluminum 2-2-2-4 was because Lowes sells it. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-19-06, 08:47 AM
> I just read the aluminum wiring thread and got scared.

Whatever you read, it wasn't applicable to your situation.

> I was going to bury an aluminum direct burial cable 2-2-2-4
> between main disconnect and pump panel.

That's fine.

> I know I have to scrape the ends off with a wire brush and
> use antioxidant paste. Isn't that enough?

That's plenty. I cut the aluminum back to where it is shiny.
The brush is to work the paste into the grooves, not to shine it up (though you could; but starting with no corrosion at all is better than trying to remove it).

> Do you suggest I stay with copper?
No reason in your case.

Old 05-19-06, 09:05 AM
I would never install direct burial cable for a number of reasons, but that's just me.

The cable you describe has almost nothing in common with the #12 and#10 branch circuit wiring that causes lots of problems. The cable is different right down to the insulation processes used and the aluminum alloy. Correctly installed the cable is completely safe.

If you haven't bought this cable yet I'd suggest you bury conduit and pull individual conductors. And if you absolutely think you have to use copper, have the paperwork for a second mortgage in place - the price of copper is out of sight right now.

Old 05-19-06, 10:28 AM