Under-cabinet Lighting

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-06, 07:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 54
Under-cabinet Lighting

I am adding under-cabinet lighting in my kitchen. I will also be putting some up-lights on top of the upper cabinets. I was thinking of using these for the under-cabinet lighting:
http://www.doityourself.com/invt/u531077
I will need 3 sets of the 3-light kits (9 lights total) for the under-cabinet and maybe another 9 for up-lights (using similar low voltage halogen lights) I will be adding a new circuit for this. Should a single 15A circuit be sufficient?
Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-06, 05:53 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,597
Looks like about 3 amps to me, plus whatever else is on the circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-06, 05:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Be careful. Depending upon where you place the receptacle(s), this will be considered a small appliance circuit and subject to the requirements of same (meaning a 20 amp GFCI protected circuit).
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-06, 07:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 54
I was planning 2 outlets above the upper cabinets (for the up-lights) and 1 outlet inside one cabinet, and 1 outlet at the counter level, but inside one of those corner cabinets with the roll-down door. Would this configuration need a small appliance circuit? My wife was hoping I could put another outlet in the kitchen so maybe it might be best to just go ahead and do a GFCI circuit and add the extra outlet along with the outlets for the lighting. If I go this route, then what are the requirements? All outlets need to be GFI with a 20A ground fault circuit breaker? Are there any other requirements? Does this sound like a good approach?
Thanks for the advice!!
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-06, 08:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 54
Also, does this lighting kit http://www.doityourself.com/invt/u531077 allow the lights to be placed at any position along the electrical wire? I know there are some at Lowes that have maximum spacing of 18" which doesn't quite work in my layout. Thanks!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes