Changing 15 Amp to 20 Amp

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-26-06, 08:57 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changing 15 Amp to 20 Amp

I would like to change out a 15 amp breaker to a 20 amp breaker. What do I need to check to make sure I can make the switch? Wire size, etc? Rather not call an electrician if this is something I can do myself, safely.
 
  #2  
Old 05-26-06, 09:15 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,251
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
Unless the wire is 12 gauge you CANNOT change to a larger size breaker. To do so would create a fire hazard.

If you ignore this advise, please call your insurance agent.
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-06, 03:48 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,454
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also the whole circuit MUST be #12, not just at the breaker.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: