Changing 15 Amp to 20 Amp

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-26-06, 08:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changing 15 Amp to 20 Amp

I would like to change out a 15 amp breaker to a 20 amp breaker. What do I need to check to make sure I can make the switch? Wire size, etc? Rather not call an electrician if this is something I can do myself, safely.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-26-06, 09:15 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,944
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Unless the wire is 12 gauge you CANNOT change to a larger size breaker. To do so would create a fire hazard.

If you ignore this advise, please call your insurance agent.
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-06, 03:48 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also the whole circuit MUST be #12, not just at the breaker.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: