120 from 220 circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-06, 08:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 106
120 from 220 circuit

I had a 220v outlet installed outside for a well pump. It is a single phase circuit. Direct burial cable was used (8-2). Can I "tap" this and add a 120v outlet with ground?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-27-06, 08:23 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
No, since you don't have a neutral, you can't tap onto it. If it was 8-3 wg, you could install a breaker box and separate 120 volts from it, but in your case (and mine) you can't.
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-06, 08:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
I had a 220v outlet installed outside for a well pump. It is a single phase circuit. Direct burial cable was used (8-2). Can I "tap" this and add a 120v outlet with ground?
this kind of wire you have the answer is no you cant do this set up because you only have two hot legs and grounding wire only and there is no netural wire there but if you have 8-3 then you can do that but other wise no dont think about it for safety sake.

Merci , Marc
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-06, 08:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 106
I just checked the left over wire. It has 2 large conductors (8) and a smaller one. I guess the smaller one is a ground?

So, I should have gotten the electrician to run an extra wire in case I needed to do this in the future? This work was completed last week. I sure wish the eletrician would have asked if there was a possibility that I would want 110 capability. I really don't need it now but would like to have the capability.

Does the neutral have to be 8 gauge also?
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-06, 11:45 PM
rdn2113's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wally World
Posts: 451
yes - the neutral wire should be the same gauge.

Your situation underscores the benefit of using conduit when permitted by code for underground installations. If you ever need to, you can replace or add wire if necessary (assuming conduit is properly sized).

You can always run a separate UF circuit for 110 if the trench for the 220 line hasn't been back-filled yet.

Best wishes.
 
  #6  
Old 05-28-06, 04:06 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Dontcha hate it when people don't think ahead. The electrician, or well installer could have installed 8-3 wg just as easily, and at a miminal extra cost than 8-2, and provided an outlet for heat tape, light bulb, hair dryer (best way to thaw a pitot tube), etc. But Noooo!
 
  #7  
Old 05-28-06, 04:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 106
Trench is filled in and everything is covered with sod.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'