Hot Tub wiring-Comments?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-06, 07:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Hot Tub wiring-Comments?

I am wiring a hot tub and from reading this forum and others I have figured to do it this way. Tub is located outdoors on deck about 60' from panel in house.
Tub calls for 60A 240v feed.
Will run from Main panel to GFCI disconnect four #6 THWN wires in 1" schedule 40 PVC conduit with expansion fittings(located in Rhode Island-gets cold here). Ground wire will be an insulated piece of THWN. Conduit will be all above ground clipped to bottom of deck.
GFCI disconnect will be within sight of tub but not within 5'.
PVC conduit continues from disconnect to tub.
60A Two pole breaker in main panel.

Am I missing anything here?
Thanks, Dylan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-03-06, 05:58 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,441
You are missing the required 120 volt general purpose receptacle located no closer than 5' and no farther than 10' from the hot tub.

Without seeing your installation you may also have bonding issues that would need to be adddressed.

Have you also obtained a permit?
 
  #3  
Old 06-03-06, 06:02 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
pcboss, that is NOT the requirement. The correct requirement is for a general purpose GFI protected receptacle between 10' and 20'. This is required for spas installed outdoors.

Most package spas are pre-bonded. No extra or external bonding is necessary.
Bonding is NOT grounding to anyone not familiar.



Also:

Conduit should be sch80 where subject to damage.

You are allowed 6' of flexible conduit at the tub. We use "Sealtite", or liquidtight flexible conduit.
 
  #4  
Old 06-03-06, 06:05 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Also, the convenience receptacle can be an existing one. There is nothing saying it must be installed new.
 
  #5  
Old 06-03-06, 06:16 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,441
Petey,

Could you post the Code section that requires the distance to be 10' min?

I know that 680.43(A) says indoor but I believe the distances are the same.
 
  #6  
Old 06-03-06, 06:35 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Originally Posted by pcboss
Petey,

Could you post the Code section that requires the distance to be 10' min?

I know that 680.43(A) says indoor but I believe the distances are the same.

680.42

It basically treats an outside spa/hot tub like an outdoor pool with two exceptions.
 
  #7  
Old 06-03-06, 07:32 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
680.42 Outdoor Installations
A spa or hot tub installed outdoors shall comply with the provisions of Parts I and II of this article, except as permitted in 680.42(A) and 680.42(B), that would otherwise apply to pools installed outdoors.




II. Permanently Installed Pools

680.22 Area Lighting, Receptacles, and Equipment

(A) Receptacles

(3) Dwelling Unit(s)
Where a permanently installed pool is installed at a dwelling unit(s), no fewer than one 125-volt 15- or 20-ampere receptacle on a general-purpose branch circuit shall be located not less than 3.0 m (10 ft) from, and not more than 6.0 m (20 ft) from, the inside wall of the pool. This receptacle shall be located not more than 2.0 m (6 ft 6 in.) above the floor, platform, or grade level serving the pool.
 
  #8  
Old 06-03-06, 05:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Bonding

Thanks for the input guys. I am getting a permit but I'm trying to get my ducks in a row before going as I don't know what they will require when I pull the permit-do I have to describe my plan for installation?
How do I find out if the tub is pre-bonded? I don't have the manual with me right now so I'm not sure if it notes it there.
I don't think the conduit will be "subject to damage" thus requiring the upgrade to Sch 80. The entire run will be under the deck or cliped to underside of joists in the basement.
What is the typical layout of the expansion fittings for the pvc conduit? Is one good for the whole run or is it based on distance? bends? etc

Thanks again, Dylan
 
  #9  
Old 06-03-06, 05:57 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
NEC is great. BUT................ In the Ocean state check your local/state code... In MA. they change alot and you guys aren't much different. (strange things in the northeast)..
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'