Trip switch


  #1  
Old 06-03-06, 04:49 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trip switch

Hi I have a problem with a trip swich tripping when I plug my pond
pump into on socket but not when I plug it into another on the same
trip. However I can plug other items in without a poblem. I have
checked the pump and there does not appar to be a problem here.

Any ideas

Thanks Barry
 
  #2  
Old 06-03-06, 05:03 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your post is somewhat vague and confusing. Please clarify that this what you mean:

When you plug your pump into one GFCI protected receptacle, it trips the GFCI. But when you plug the pump into another receptacle on the same GFCI circuit it does not trip.

Is that correct?

Please describe the setup further. Where is the GFCI in relation to the receptacles? Is it a GFCI breaker? Is it a GFCI receptacle? Are these both GFCI receptacles? Which receptacle is electrically closer to the circuit breaker or closer to the GFCI?
 
  #3  
Old 06-03-06, 05:50 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Thanks for the reply.

When I say trip it is the trip in the fuse box that I am talking about.

It seems odd to me that I can plug my pump into one socket on the circiut and it trips the fuse. Whereas if I plug it into a different socket on the same ring it does not.

I hope that explains a bit better I am not an electician but can do simple electrical stuff.

Barry
 
  #4  
Old 06-04-06, 02:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Your lack of familiarity with electrical terms and the fact water is involved may mean it is safest to call an electrician.

Originally Posted by barryeee
When I say trip it is the trip in the fuse box that I am talking about.
Do you mean a breaker box? Do you mean a breaker? If so do you know if it is a GFCI breaker or not.
It seems odd to me that I can plug my pump into one socket on the circuit and it trips the fuse.
("Trips the fuse"? You "blow" fuses and they must be replaced. You trip breakers and they can usually be reset.)
Whereas if I plug it into a different socket on the same ring it does not.
"Ring"? Do you mean circuit? By "same" do you mean they are both on the same breaker and is it a breaker with only one handle? Are there any GFCI outlets on this circuit?

Or am I misunderstanding what you wrote.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: