Max wires in recessed fixtures

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-04-06, 07:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Max wires in recessed fixtures

I have a recessed light with a rating of 8 wires in the junction box. That is all it says is 8 wire, no gauge info or anything else. I want to run it with a 3 way switch at either end, but that requires 2-two wire sets to be run between the lights in addition to a single three wire run back to the switch. That adds up to 8 (3+2+2+ground) and is the max. However there are already the 2 wires for the light itself in the box, which I understand make my total to be 10; hence too much.


Am I correct that I overwired the box? thoughts on fixing it so it can be run this way.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-04-06, 09:13 AM
ISC
ISC is offline
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Great NorthWest
Posts: 16
Originally Posted by Jamie Mikami
I have a recessed light with a rating of 8 wires in the junction box. That is all it says is 8 wire, no gauge info or anything else. I want to run it with a 3 way switch at either end, but that requires 2-two wire sets to be run between the lights in addition to a single three wire run back to the switch. That adds up to 8 (3+2+2+ground) and is the max. However there are already the 2 wires for the light itself in the box, which I understand make my total to be 10; hence too much.


Am I correct that I overwired the box? thoughts on fixing it so it can be run this way.

Hey Jamie,

Here's what i'm thinking with respect to what is least confusing:there are some links and other threads posted on this site on wiring 3-way switches and their variations, maybe a visual would helpful. Ok, running a 3-wire between the to 3-way switches and then depending on your situation, you could power one 3-way and switch leg from the other 3-way, using 14-2 for jumpers between lights. Or, you could power and switch from one side and dead end the other. It sounds like to me that you are attemting a 3-way through the light and then jumping out from that one to the others, is that right?
 
  #3  
Old 06-04-06, 09:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
I am running power to switch, 3wire from switch to light 1, 2 - 2wire from light 1 to light 2 and a 3 wire back to switch 2. That puts a count of 8 wires into the box. I agree I can change the run, but that would require a rewire which I was hoping to avoid with the correct junction box for the wires.

So do you agree that a 8 wire limit on the box means really only 6 wires going into the box. Add in the 2 exisiting wires and you have the 8 max. and the fact that my light didn't mention different counts for different gauges seemed odd as well. Not sure if that is standard for a recessed light fixture?
 
  #4  
Old 06-04-06, 09:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
First the wiring.

Your wiring is against code as you have explained it to us. Either replace the two 14-2 runs with a single 14-4 run, or wire the second switch from light 1.

Or perhaps the best solution, wire from switch one to switch two using 14-3. This way you can avoid having to deal with the 8 wire limit completely.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes