wire run length question

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-05-06, 02:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 26
wire run length question

quick question as I try to get my head around what I'm going to do... I have a new bedroom to get ready to go. I'm only putting in 4 outlets and 2 lights (would like both on same circuit). The bedrrom is upstairs and opposite the house from the service pannel, but the house is small. Best I can tell it's going to be 40 feet to the first recepticle. Does that count as a whole run, or do I add distance from box+ + distance between recepticles? If that number adds up to more than 100, should I use 12-2 instead of 14-2? Given the exceptionally high cost of wire lately, is there still that much savings? am I lost?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-05-06, 02:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Where do you live?

In the US I would make this a 20 amp circuit, which means 12 gage wire. If in the US it must be an AFCI circuit.

The distance you are suggesting is not an issue.

Make sure that the four receptacles you are putting in are enough to meet code. Don't forget the hardwired smoke detector.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-06, 02:55 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,533
14-2 and a 15A AFCI breaker is allowed for that distance. Personally, I think it's a good idea to use 12-2 and a 20A AFCI breaker. You get 33% more available power for not much additional cost and no additional work. Perhaps an extra $10 on 100 feet of cable; the breakers will be the same price.
 
  #4  
Old 06-05-06, 03:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35
never mind
 
  #5  
Old 06-05-06, 06:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 26
I live in the US...will not forget the AFCI breaker.

I know on a per foot basis the wire isn't much more, but at $108 for a roll 12-2 really adds up fast with all of our other remodeling. I just don't see the bedroom needing much more power...all I can see is a few alarm clocks and a lamp. Would you still do 12-2?

at what distance does 14-2 become an issue?
 
  #6  
Old 06-05-06, 06:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I would not add a new 120 volt general purpose circuit to a house that was not 20 amps. Bedrooms can have any number of high current devices. Hair dryers and curling irons come to mind.

Plus, some people place a computer in a bedroom, or want to be able to pllug in a room air conditioner. The possibilities are unlimited. The wire is the only thing that costs more.

Voltage drop becomes an issue sooner at higher current. However, unless the residence is extremely large, voltage drop is usually not an issue in a residence.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes