hot tub wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-11-06, 09:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
hot tub wiring

I am wiring my 40 amp hot tub for 240. The tub is approximately 8 feet from my main panel on a cement patio. I have also purchased a 50 amp GFCI spa panel.

Here are my questions:
1) could the spa panel be next to the main panel (which is between 5 and 10 feet from the inner wall of the tub)?

2) based on these distances and amps, I plan on using #6 wire. Is this the best gauge, or could I use #8?

3) the tub will draw 40 amps, but is it okay to have a 50 amp dedicated breaker in the main and a 50 amp spa panel?

Thank you in advance for any help you might be able to provide.

Bryn
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-11-06, 11:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Is the main panel inside? Where would the spa panel be, inside or outside?
 
  #3  
Old 06-11-06, 11:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
panel is outside

Panel is on the outside of the house. Since the tub is only about 8 feet from the panel, I thought I could put the spa panel on the wall of the house next to the main panel.
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-06, 09:13 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
Originally Posted by Bryn14
I have also purchased a 50 amp GFCI spa panel.
I would just use a 40A double pole GFCI breaker in the main panel. The subpanel is not required in your case.

could the spa panel be next to the main panel (which is between 5 and 10 feet from the inner wall of the tub)?
I'm not sure on this one specifically. I know you cannot have other receptacles in the 10' zone, but don't know about the panel.

based on these distances and amps, I plan on using #6 wire. Is this the best gauge, or could I use #8?
Use (4) #8 THWN conductors in conduit -- black, red, white, green.

the tub will draw 40 amps, but is it okay to have a 50 amp dedicated breaker in the main and a 50 amp spa panel?
No. If the installation instructions say 40A, you need a 40A breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 06-12-06, 08:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
hot tub wiring

Ben,
Thanks for the great advice. It should be straightforward from here.
Bryn
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'