GFI's and Arc Protection

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-13-06, 10:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 27
GFI's and Arc Protection

I am wiring a new addition to my home, which includes 4 bedrooms. I decided to put an outside outlet under every window, including bedrooms and other rooms. Since I decided this late in the wiring, I have started to accomplish this by putting a GFI outlet under each window, but connected to the circuit I hace already have run to the various rooms. Since the bedrooms need to have Arc protection circuit breakers, I now wonder if is is permisable to put a GFI outlet (with no other load onthat oultet) on an arc-protected circuit? Please help. thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-13-06, 12:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,426
If these receptacles are on the exterior of the house there is no requirement for the AFCI protection.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-06, 07:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 49
If they come off the bedroom circuits, they will be AFCI protected. You can also protect the outside outlet with a GFCI and should have no problems.
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-06, 11:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
You can put a GFCI receptacle on the AFCI circuit, no problem. Now, SOMETIMES, when resetting the GFCI (you know, like after you test it every month... ) it can trip the AFCI breaker. I've seen circuits that do it rarely, and some that do it everytime.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'