Open neutral ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-16-06, 06:33 AM
Bernard_01's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 245
Open neutral ?

Greetings, while using a 3 prong (yellow plug in type) tester, a couple of my living room outlets showed an open neutral. At the panel the neutral is secured tightly under it's own screw as it should be. This circuit is all 12/2 NM. Am I correct to assume that there is a loose connection at one of the outlets on a side screw or even worse a poor backstab connection? Should i find the first open neutral outlet on the circuit and start there?
THANKS!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-16-06, 07:13 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,435
Yes, you should check the receptacle just prior to the first one that shows open neutral.

Move your connections to the screw connections.
 
  #3  
Old 06-16-06, 08:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
The problem could be at the last working location or at the first non-working one. With 12 gage cable there should be no back stabs, as 12 gage won't fit back stabs.

Check all screw terminals and remake any wire nutted connections.
 
  #4  
Old 06-16-06, 02:42 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,809
Originally Posted by racraft
The problem could be at the last working location or at the first non-working one. With 12 gage cable there should be no back stabs, as 12 gage won't fit back stabs.
But once up on a time there was wasn't there? I remember the first time I got one that wouldn't take 12 and being a bit disgruntled.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'