Kitchen GFI

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-16-06, 11:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 168
Question Kitchen GFI

I bought a house 6 months ago. My kitchen had no GFI reset button. Last month, I had an Electrician install the GFI stuff. Now, everytime I plug in my indoor grill, the GFI "pops". Does that mean this WAS a problem before? I have a microwave & TV plugged into 2 of the outlets that share the GFI (none was on, ONLY the grill). Does this mean I need to put the grill on a separate GFI? Thanks/Jina
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-16-06, 11:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Was a GFCI circuit breaker installed, or a GFCI receptacle?

It's possible that your indoor grill is faulty. I had an electric frying pan go bad.

Try testing your indoor grill at another GFCI in the house. Perhaps a bathroom or outdoor receptacle. If the GFCI trips, I would suspect the grill. Have it tested and, if necessary, repaired, or replace it.
 
  #3  
Old 06-16-06, 12:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 168
kithcen GFI

It was only a receptacle that was installed. It covers 3 double outlets. The grill works fine in the bathroom GFI. Thanks/Jina
 
  #4  
Old 06-16-06, 12:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I suspect an improperly wired GFCI, or a GFCI installed inappropriately on a multi wire circuit.

More information is needed.

Is the circuit breaker protecting this circuit a 240 volt breaker?

Does the grill work when plugged directly into the GFCI receptacle and only trip it when pugged into one of the other receptacles? Does anything else work in the same receptacle that the grill trips the GFCI?
 
  #5  
Old 06-16-06, 12:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 168
Kitchen gfi

I plugged the grill directly into the GFI & it did NOT pop the button. I even turned on the TV & no problem. What does this mean? If it was done incorrectly, then I obviously want to call back the same Elec & have him repair his mistake, right? Thanks/Jina
 
  #6  
Old 06-16-06, 12:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Yes, get the electrician back. Have him fix it. Make sure that it works in EACH and every receptacle in the kitchen before he leaves.

If he can't get it right then he isn't an electrician.
 
  #7  
Old 06-16-06, 12:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 168
Kitchen gfi

Thank you VERY much! Jina
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'