electrical outlets...i have four wires

Old 06-18-06, 02:22 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
electrical outlets...i have four wires

hello all! i am new to this forum and a new homeowner. i have a lot of total noob questions, so bear with me.

i am trying to replace all my outlets in my house (built in 1950) - 'cause they are old and cruddy looking. so, i went out and bought about 12 polarized, grounded outlets, figuring hey, that's standard, right?

well, some of my outlets have grounded receptacles, but no grounding wire. some outlets have just the two-prong outlet. and in the junction box, some have 3 wires, some have 2 wires and some have 4 wires. basically, a hodge-podge of stuff here. so, here's my questions:

* i have four wires coming out of a lot of my junction boxes. what does that mean? there's no grounding wire, just two black, two white.

* do i break the metal tab when there are four or two wires?

* what does breaking the metal tab do?

* if i don’t have a grounding wire, will putting in grounded outlets be a problem?

* if i don’t have a grounding wire, how do i get a grounded outlet? can a grounding wire be “put in”?

* can i replace a two-prong outlet with a three-prong outlet?

if anyone can answer any or all of these questions, it would be greatly appreciated. thanks so much in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-18-06, 02:38 PM
nap
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
* i have four wires coming out of a lot of my junction boxes. what does that mean? there's no grounding wire, just two black, two white.
It depends on what, if anything, they are hooked to in the box.

* do i break the metal tab when there are four or two wires?
it depends on if the recep was intended to have two circuit going to it. In many houses there is a (or many) switched recep for lighting. often only one of the two receps of the duples was switched.

* what does breaking the metal tab do?
it isolates the two receps (electrically) so you can use
different circuits to power each recep.