110 VAC to 24VAC

Old 06-20-06, 09:02 PM
Exclamation 110 VAC to 24VAC

this could be a very stupid question but not knowing could have a very expensive side effect

i am a computer geek by trade and i am trying to make my way into installing security cameras - i ran into a problem today with a camera that comes with a 110 VAC to 12 VDC inverter (i think its inverter) if you were installing it indoors near a 110 VAC plug - this customer wanted it mounted outdoors no problem bought an outdoor housing and everything was cool until it came to power - the outdoor housing says it has inputs for 24 volts ac current which it converts to 12 volts dc inside the housing and sends to the camera here is the problem the camera is mounted to a lightpole so i figured i would just splice in to the junction for the lights and be good but then it occured to me that if the housing only wants 24 volts and i wire it to 110 and energize the breaker i could possibly fry an 1800 dollar camera which did not sit well with me - do i need something to kick down the 110 to 24? please help i need to get this guys camera up tomorrow i wish it was indoors right next to a wall plug i would have been done today =(

here is the product i am talking about if this helps anyone http://www.spytown.com/sonsncfdp8cs.html

Sponsored Links
Old 06-20-06, 10:49 PM