simple fuse question

Old 06-25-06, 09:25 AM
simple fuse question

I have a simple motor device which is running off a 12v D.C. battery which I'd like to add a fuse to. I know that the main rating for fuses are in terms of Amperes but what about voltage? Does it matter whether the fuse is for A.C. or D.C.?

I have lots of those glass tube fuses and holders around the house which I'd like to use but i know they are rated for 110V A.C. Could they be used for this particular DC application too?

Sponsored Links
Old 06-25-06, 05:28 PM
volts does matter for fusses. However inyour case at 12 volts you dont' need to worry. The fuse voltage needs to be at least the voltage of the system. It can be higher but not lower.

Old 06-25-06, 05:54 PM
Although I agree that volts does matter, I think it's backwards from what you state.

Of course, I am no electrical engineer, but here is my thinking.

A fuse blows not because the amprage has been exceeded, but because the wattage (heat) has been exceeded.

A 5a 250v fuse will allow 1250 watts before it blows.
A 5a 12v fuse will allow only 60 watts before it blows.

I could be way wrong, but I would say you need to determine what your actual load is at 12 vots, and use a fuse rated at 12v and 120% of actual amp draw. If you can convert your load to watts you could then calculate what amp fuse you need for a fuse rated at 250v.

Old 06-25-06, 06:28 PM
nap
Actually joed has it right.

Here is a passage from a bussman manual.

Voltage rating