Service Panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-02-06, 01:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Service Panel

I have a 200 amp Service Panel that has only one neutral/ground bar. I am going to install double oven in a redesigned kitchen. My question is: Can i only run a 3 wire to the oven, or can i run a 4 wire and tie both the neutral and ground wire to the bar?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-02-06, 01:45 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
If the oven is a 120/240v circuit you MUST run a 4-wire circuit to it. This is code for new circuits.
If it is straight 240v then 3-wire is all that's needed.

A main panel's neutral bar is bonded to the panel box and it is used for both grounds and neutrals. This is basically the ONLY time the grounds and neutral are attached to the same place.
 
  #3  
Old 07-02-06, 01:59 PM
ddr
ddr is offline
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 133
As Speedy Petey said, in the main service panel -- and only in the main service panel -- you can connect both a neutral and ground to the neutral bar, just make sure they go to different terminals on the bar. While only one neutral may be inserted per bar terminal you may be able to insert two grounds if you need room for ground wires (this will depend on the gauge of the grounds and your local code).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes