Recessed Outlet for twist-lock plug

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-03-06, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 124
Recessed Outlet for twist-lock plug

I am looking for recessed outlets (clock receptacles) for a single twist lock male plug and also a single standard outlet.

A part number would be good.

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-03-06, 02:41 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,426
What voltage and ampacity do you need?
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-06, 05:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 124
Kinda dumb not to include that, 15 amp 115 volt. I really need two. One for a standard grounded plug, like a Leviton 688-W, and the other for a single male twist lock, two wires plus ground.

thanks for the reply
 
  #4  
Old 07-03-06, 08:35 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Recessed, Probaley won't find one. Recessed why? Twist lock why? The cord cap won't be that small either.
 
  #5  
Old 07-04-06, 07:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 124
I thought I could duplicate this for less than the $299.00 price tag

http://www.panamax.com/products.cfm?...il&id=261&ly=h

The picture loads a little slow. The twist lock cord plugs into the back a power conditioner. This system is used to provide conditioned power to plasma tv that is hung on the wall and the power (romex) cable is in the wall.

I plan on using only a single box inplace of the duplex box and will use flex-conduit to help keep stray noise down.
 
  #6  
Old 07-04-06, 07:51 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
power conditioners are not cheap. A twist lock won't give you conditioned power. You could locate a conditioner in the basement feed it, Then run the load to the TV.
 
  #7  
Old 07-04-06, 08:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 124
The conditioner is about the size of a stero receiver and sits in the area with all the stero gear and cable box.

Here is a full here is a full layout of the system, with the 5500 being the conditioner.

http://www.panamax.com/Literature/PDF/INS0736E.pdf

I am not going to run the TV signal lines in the same box as the power.
 
  #8  
Old 07-05-06, 10:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: us
Posts: 385
Why does the twist-lock one need to be recessed?
 
  #9  
Old 07-05-06, 12:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 124
If there is a back on the equipment cabinet, which there is, the plug will extend from the receptacle and prevent the cabinet from being positioned against the wall.

I have all the parts except the recessed twist lock. As soon as I find a big electric warehouse I should be able to get one.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'