12G to 14G

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-04-06, 03:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 374
12G to 14G

I'd like to add some hi-hats replacing an old flourescent. It's off a 15 Amp circuit. The main cable from the breaker is 14G going into a junction box & then feeding the flourescent & other lights from that point. Is there a problem if I then replace the 14G cable used to supply the flouresecnt with 12G cable going from the junction box to wire the new Hi-hats?

Basically I guess I'm asking is it ok to mix 14G & 12G cables on the same circuit providing of coarse that the "smallest" cable in the circuit meets the minimum amperage requirement for the breaker/circuit.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-04-06, 04:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Technically no. However, most inspectors would frown on this. The problem is that someone else may see the 12 gage wire at the lights and think they can simply replace the breaker or fuse without bothering to examine the wire at the breaker or fuse.

Don't be cheap. Go to the store and but 14 gage wire, or replace the wire on the entire circuit with 12 gage wire.
 
  #3  
Old 07-04-06, 04:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 374
I see your point. From a pure funtionality perspective it wouldn't do any harm especially since I'm using a higher gage wire. It wasn't cheapness it was more laziness since I happen to already have a box of 12G cable around. Thanks for the info.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'