Branch panel in Separate Garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-07-06, 05:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cheyenne area
Posts: 2
Branch panel in Separate Garage

I am planning on running power to my detached garage. (Right now I am running everything on a 20amp extension cord.) It's about 25 feet from the house. I haven't decided whether to go aerial or underground. The entrance panel is on the wall facing the garage so either way is pretty simple.
I plan on running #8-3 and neutral on a 30amp breaker to a branch panel with 2 circuits for lights (15amp) and two circuits for outlets (20amp). Do I need a separate ground rod for the garage or should I tie into the main panel ground? Or both?
If I go aerial, can I use UF 8-3 with a steel-wire support or do I need some other type of wire?

Thanks,
Hal
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-07-06, 05:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
UF is only suitable for direct burial.

I recommend that you run buried conduit. I suggest more than a 30 amp circuit. I would go at least 60. But if you do run conduit you can always change it later.

You can run a three wire circuit or a four wire circuit. To run a 3 wire circuit there must be no other metal path back to the main building, such as a water pipe, or telephone line, or whatever.

You need a ground rod at the garage.
 
  #3  
Old 07-08-06, 07:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,467
To run a 3 wire circuit there must be no other metal path back to the main building, such as a water pipe, or telephone line, or whatever.

I've seen this mentioned several times and I just don't understand it, sorry.

My detached garage has a 3 wire feed but the power comes directly from the meter can, not the main panel like the original poster. Garage has a 100 amp Square D panel with ground rod.

I have cable TV and a phone in the garage, old rotary type. Is this OK?

Thanks,

Baldwin
 
  #4  
Old 07-08-06, 07:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
A feed coming from the meter is different than a feed coming from a main panel.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'