circuit change

Old 07-16-06, 06:52 PM
circuit change

Hi, couple of questions that appear simple, but I've only just moved here from the UK, so don't know what the answer is for the US.
I am a qualified electrical engineer in the UK, but not US,lol
We've just bought a new house, and I plan on turning the partially finished walk out basement into an office, but need more outlets(room has one right now)
The ceiling is not finished so access is ok, there is a 220v dryer supply that goes across the ceiling(through the joists). At the box end, it's a twin 30A breaker, the cable I believe is "romex"(orange sheath, solid conductors)
If I take out that twin breaker and drop a single 20A, is there any reason I can't use that Romex cable to feed the outlets? It clearly will be ok current rating wise.
Just not sure if there's a "code" issue.
Second question , and this is more of a curio for me, The US uses radial circuits as opposed to ring, is there code that says ring circuits cannot be used? this would negate a lot of the voltage drop issues I see over here?

Sponsored Links
Old 07-16-06, 07:07 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Originally Posted by vapochilled
Hi, couple of questions that appear simple, but I've only just moved here from the UK, so don't know what the answer is for the US.
I am a qualified electrical engineer in the UK, but not US,lol
We've just bought a new house, and I plan on turning the partially finished walk out basement into an office, but need more outlets(room has one right now)
The ceiling is not finished so access is ok, there is a 220v dryer supply that goes across the ceiling(through the joists). At the box end, it's a twin 30A breaker, the cable I believe is "romex"(orange sheath, solid conductors)
If I take out that twin breaker and drop a single 20A, is there any reason I can't use that Romex cable to feed the outlets? It clearly will be ok current rating wise.
Just not sure if there's a "code" issue.