Emergency Generator

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-17-06, 01:51 PM
oonkj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Emergency Generator

I am planning to install a manual transfer switch (see link below)
to connect a portable generator. All of the generators I've looked at have the neutral bonded to the frame. From previous threads it sounds like this means that the generator isn't grounded through the transfer switch but needs a seperate ground. Is that correct? How do I ground the generator? Thanks in advance for your help.

http://www.connecticut-electric.com/6-5001.asp
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-17-06, 05:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 133
Look at the post on 7/12 for portable generator grounding.
 
  #3  
Old 07-17-06, 07:43 PM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Here's the referenced link http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=270091

If this don't help feel free to ask on.
 
  #4  
Old 09-17-06, 12:55 PM
oonkj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Nothing happened

Well, I'm stumped. I installed a transfer switch (see link in first post), I bought a 5500 watt generater at the blue big box store. I plugged in my 4 prong cable, fired up the generator.... and nothing happened! Breaker didn't trip on the generator. Breakers didn't trip on the transfer switch. (Breakers didn't trip in the main panel) But I had no power!!!! I don't even know where to start looking for the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #5  
Old 09-17-06, 01:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
What have you done?

Did you measure the output of the generator? Did you verify it reaches the transfer switch?

Is everything wired properly?
 
  #6  
Old 09-17-06, 01:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Do you have power at the other receptacles on the generator?
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-07, 09:37 AM
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southeast MI
Posts: 77
Originally Posted by oonkj View Post
Well, I'm stumped. I installed a transfer switch (see link in first post), I bought a 5500 watt generater at the blue big box store. I plugged in my 4 prong cable, fired up the generator.... and nothing happened! Breaker didn't trip on the generator. Breakers didn't trip on the transfer switch. (Breakers didn't trip in the main panel) But I had no power!!!! I don't even know where to start looking for the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
You may have to "flash" the field of the generator. This happens when the rotor's residual magnetism (used to start generating voltage) has dissipated. This involves connecting a DC voltage (usually 12V) to the field MOMENTARILY, usually 1-2 sec. For your specific model, I would recommend consulting the owner's manual, or contacting the manufacturer.

Don't rely on the "help" from either the orange or blue big box stores. They cover a variety of sections and may not have the knowledge necessary to give proper advice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes