ground on electronic light switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-06, 11:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
ground on electronic light switch

I am installing a new light switch with a radio receiver in it so it can be turned on/off remotely. The switch has a ground wire, but there is no ground wire in the junction box, and I don't see any screw hole where I could attach it with a screw to the box, which I know is grounded. Can the ground wire be attached with the same screw that attaches the switch? Thank you in advance for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-23-06, 06:11 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Is this a metal box with a metal conduit system or possibly AC, MC, or BX cable running to it? How are you sure the box is grounded?

If it is a metal box, there usually is a hole that accepts a 10-32 screw. Sometimes folks attach the box using that hole (what a pain and lack of forsight). You cannot use the device attaching screw to use as a ground. You need to drill and tap a hole for a proper grounding screw.
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-06, 07:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
The box is metal and the conduit is metal, and there is zero resistance between the white wire and box when the fuse is removed. Sorry I don't know what AC, MC or BX is.
(most of my experience is with low voltage dc, mainly computer stuff)

I was afraid someone would tell me I needed to drill a hole and tap it. I guess I need to make another trip to the hardware store. Thanks again.

I'm new, what a great site.
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-06, 09:01 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Originally Posted by Gortek
The box is metal and the conduit is metal, and there is zero resistance between the white wire and box when the fuse is removed. Sorry I don't know what AC, MC or BX is.
(most of my experience is with low voltage dc, mainly computer stuff)

I was afraid someone would tell me I needed to drill a hole and tap it. I guess I need to make another trip to the hardware store. Thanks again.

I'm new, what a great site.
Do not attach the white wire to the ground. I don;t think you are from the post. Actually your post belies much more knowledge of your electrical sytem than you claim to have. Just wanted to make it clear to not do that.

AC armored cable
MC metal clad
BX ???I have no clue as to what it designates.

They are all cable systems that use a similar spiral wound metal wrap encircling the enclosed (factory installed) conductors
 
  #5  
Old 07-23-06, 12:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Ok, thanks for clearing that up. I didn't mean to appear too ignorant, I've read some basic articles on wiring and have a basic knowledge of electricity but I've never read the code, and from what I've read so far, it's not a good idea to not follow the code.
 
  #6  
Old 07-23-06, 12:21 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Originally Posted by Gortek
what I've read so far, it's not a good idea to not follow the code.

Well it makes my life easier. I hate it when an inspector tags one of my jobs, especially when he is right.
 
  #7  
Old 07-23-06, 12:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Euclid, Oh
Posts: 314
They make green , metal clips that you could use instead of drilling and tapping a hole. They slide on over the edge of the box.
 
  #8  
Old 07-23-06, 01:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Originally Posted by nap
Well it makes my life easier. I hate it when an inspector tags one of my jobs, especially when he is right.
I hate when they Tag one of my jobs because the home owner wanted to add something (and did it themselfs). ERRRRRRRRRR!
 
  #9  
Old 07-23-06, 01:06 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Originally Posted by tribe_fan
They make green , metal clips that you could use instead of drilling and tapping a hole. They slide on over the edge of the box.
You are absolutely correct. This would work as well, it's just that most of the time when I have a box in the wall it has a plaster ring on it (which is behind the drywall) and you cannot install those clips. If the OP has a box that would allow the use of these, it would most definately work.
I actually have some of them on my service truck. They don;t get used very often, but they are there.
 
  #10  
Old 07-23-06, 01:07 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Originally Posted by tribe_fan
They make green , metal clips that you could use instead of drilling and tapping a hole. They slide on over the edge of the box.
This can be a regional issue, becarefull. As with AFCI.. In Ma. REQUIRED, No exceptions. With a panel change, ALL breakers/ckts (less the wireing) MUST be upgraded.
Always best to ask. Do it once. It really is less exspensive.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'