Conduit radius?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-29-06, 07:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 358
Conduit radius?

I need to pull a 3+ground wire between the main and sprinkler timer enclosure. I saw at Lowes a gently curved, preformed rigid PVC conduit.

My problem is a phone box getting in the way. I have to either
1) use a 90 degree bent metal connector (sharp bend) and run a conduit above the phone box or
2) use a flexible grey conduit and run it below the phone box.

Please advise which to choose?

Sprinkler pump: 1 hp, 240V single phase
 

Last edited by puter; 07-29-06 at 08:24 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-29-06, 09:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
A single phase 240 volt 1 hp motor is about 8 amps.

Use #12 wire on a 15 amp breaker and what ever 1/2 inch trade size fittings work to make the bends you need for the physical location.

Edit to add: Much smarter people than us have already figured the bending radious stuff and the code says that this is ok.

Ps. the no 12 was my idea. no 14 would be legal.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-06, 10:01 AM
hex boy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by jwhite
A single phase 240 volt 1 hp motor is about 8 amps.

Use #12 wire on a 15 amp breaker and what ever 1/2 inch trade size fittings work to make the bends you need for the physical location.

Edit to add: Much smarter people than us have already figured the bending radious stuff and the code says that this is ok.

Ps. the no 12 was my idea. no 14 would be legal.

I also prefered the #12 wire but my breaker is 30 amp. this is because of full load current of motor.
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-06, 10:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Must be a different motor than the OP said.

Still the conduit size is ok. 3 no 10 fit easy in a 1/2 trade size conduit.
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-06, 12:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 358
Thanks a lot. I went back to Lowes and found a 90 degree bent connector that will fit my layout. Since it is a preformed, it should be okay per NEC I guess.

I got THWN wires, 14 gauge, based on 1 hp=760watt=less than 4A at 230V. I should have thought about initial surge and bought 12 gauge. Oh, well. I am going to have to live with it. I wish I had read the replies before the Lowes trip. Thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'