Fixing an oddly-wired GFCI outlet

Old 08-01-06, 08:32 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fixing an oddly-wired GFCI outlet

Hey folks. I'm a newbie when it comes to home electronics. The circuit I'm working on consists of a Jacuzzi tub pump, the wall-mounted timer switch for the tub, and an outlet. There is nothing else on the circuit.

The problem is that the outlet is not live. Please see my diagram of the old wiring here:

Diagram of Old Wiring

After meditating on this for quite some time, I think I see what is going on. I suspect the outlet was not intended for use (it's in a very odd location, in a closet) -- rather, it was added to the circuit to provide inexpensive and easy GFCI protection to the Jacuzzi pump. While I have not tested this hypothesis, I suspect the outlet will only be live when the Jacuzzi pump is running.

What I would like to do is to keep the Jacuzzi pump on a timer and protected by GFCI. I would ALSO like to have the outlet on the same circuit available for use independently of the Jacuzzi pump, and also protected by GFCI.

Some initial questions:

1) I've seen GFCI boxes (not outlets) that just have the test/reset buttons on the face, and nothing else. Could I simply use one of these to protect the Jacuzzi pump, and then keep the GFCI outlet on the same circuit?

2) The Jacuzzi pump has braided copper wire, whereas everything else is solid-core. In the original installation, the braided copper wires (5 and 6) were capped to a short length of solid-core; then, this solid-core wire fed into the outlet's terminals. I've omitted this from the drawing to keep it simple. Should I preserve this? I'm wondering if it's building code (I live in California)

Thanks so much for your help!
-Jeff

Old 08-01-06, 09:10 AM
R
Run power first into the LINE terminals of the GFCI. Then run power through the timer and to the jacuzzi pump

Old 08-01-06, 09:11 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 419 Upvotes on 372 Posts
Jeff,