Air Conditioner Plug Gets Warm??

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-01-06, 03:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Air Conditioner Plug Gets Warm??

Hello Everyone: I had a friend who is a qualified electrician and has died, put a seperate line in for my 5000BTU air conditioner in my bedroom.
Is it normal for the plug and the receptacle to be warm (not hot) just warm? I am a senior citizen with a Heart condition and really need to have this in this heat wave! But I dont want to burn the house down YET! Thanks, Tom
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-01-06, 04:10 PM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
No it shouldn't be warm. You've either got a unit that is getting tired, or dirty and needs cleaned. Or you've got a weak connection in the outlet.
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-06, 04:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Thanks, Well, I checked the filter and its clean and the ac is like brand new. The outlet is new too????
 
  #4  
Old 08-01-06, 04:51 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Tom: What size breaker is the ac hooked up to? Is it a 120 or 240v unit?
 
  #5  
Old 08-01-06, 05:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
I believe it a 120 but is there a way to check it with the circuit breaker?
 
  #6  
Old 08-01-06, 05:04 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
If it is a 5000btu it is definitely 120v. Probably around 5-6 amps.

I suspect a weak receptacle or the actual plug itself is weak/thin.
 
  #7  
Old 08-01-06, 05:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
I dont understand, its a new ac and so is the recepticle?
 
  #8  
Old 08-01-06, 05:22 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Then the level of warmth is the question. A high draw appliance plug will definitely get warm. "You should be able to hold you hand on it all day" type warm.
 
  #9  
Old 08-01-06, 06:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
I think there is no doubt that I can keep my hand on it all day, It does not seem to get hot just warm, but I will keep an eye on it during the night
 
  #10  
Old 08-01-06, 06:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
I think there is no doubt that I can keep my hand on it all day, It does not seem to get hot just warm, but I will keep an eye on it during the night If its the same warmth in the morning then I guess its should be ok, right?
 
  #11  
Old 08-02-06, 02:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Well I believe Speedy mentioned first, it was the higher draw when I first turned it on the plug and receptical got a little warm but as the thermostat kicked in to a lower position, it got completely cold and seemed to stay that way all night and it kiced off and on as it should have. So I guess everything is ok and normal. Thank you ALL, Tom
 
  #12  
Old 08-02-06, 04:17 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Nothing wrong with looking out for your own safety. Just keep an eye on it.
 
  #13  
Old 08-02-06, 04:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Mattison: Will do, Thanks. BTW, can you tell me how to enlarge the words in this reply, I only see "Font" changis?
 
  #14  
Old 08-02-06, 05:12 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
I don't think the text size option is available on this forum. Sorry.
 
  #15  
Old 08-02-06, 07:39 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
<font size=4>You can use HTML.</font>
 
  #16  
Old 08-02-06, 11:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
You can use HTML> How do I do that?
 
  #17  
Old 08-02-06, 01:29 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
Tom,

You can make the text of any web page appear larger by going to the "View" menu at the top of Internet Explorer. Select "Text Size" from the drop-down menu and the options "Larger" and "Largest" will appear to the right.

If you use Firefox, Mozilla or Netscape: hold down the Ctrl key and simultaneously press the + (plus) and - (minus) keys at the far right side of your keyboard.
 
  #18  
Old 08-02-06, 01:37 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
{font size=4} your text here {/font}

By replacing the { and } with < and >
...you get:

<font size=4> your text here </font>



Adjust the number for larger or smaller.
A 5 font is:
<font size=5> your text here </font>
 
  #19  
Old 08-02-06, 03:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Ibpooks, already have that set to largest!

Speedypetey, you said>>
{font size=4} your text here {/font}

By replacing the { and } with < and >
...you get:

your text here

Adjust the number for larger or smaller.
A 5 font is:
your text here

I dont get what you are saying, need to walk me thru it?
 
  #20  
Old 08-02-06, 04:44 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
I'm not sure if I understand what you are trying to do.

Do you need all the text on the page larger so you can read it?
Or are you trying to make your own posts larger?
 
  #21  
Old 08-02-06, 04:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Well, what I would like to do is make my words larger, and maybe others can make them the same as mine. I am not seeing as good as I use to and it strains my eyes to type and read these words.
 
  #22  
Old 08-02-06, 04:59 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
I agree with ipbooks then. Your best bet is to make the whole page larger.
You say you did that already but I suspect you are not going large enough.
You can make the text quite large.

I definitely would NOT rely on others to follow your lead with large text. Besides, you still will not see the large text doing it my way until the post is made. You still see it smaller while typing.
 
  #23  
Old 08-02-06, 05:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Your best bet is to make the whole page larger.
You say you did that already but I suspect you are not going large enough.
I have this at its largest. Besides this will not enlarge this forums it only enlarges IE.
Most forums besides the color, bold etc. also have a size change option at the top of the reply (composing) screen, but this site does not. Thanks, anyway
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'